## **Minutes for Steering Committee**

The Steering Committee of Fayetteville Technical Community College met in ADM 170 on October 28<sup>th</sup> 2016 to orientate new members, review procedures, and verify officers. Mr. Carl Mitchell called the meeting to order at 4:00 PM.

**Those present were:** Dr. J. Larry Keen, Carl Mitchell, Barbara Pogetti, Anthony Cameron, Michelle Ping, Cheryl Campbell, Vincent Castano, Brent Michaels, Jose Cruz, Dennis Sheridan, Joseph Bailer, Gail Davis, Theodore Thomas, and Grant Pilkay.

Those absent were: Anke Turner

## **Announcements**

Mr. Carl Mitchell welcomed everyone to the meeting and discussed the purpose, goals, and responsibilities of the Standing Committees. Mr. Mitchell also discussed the purpose and responsibilities of the Steering Committee.

Committee members introduced themselves and named the Standing Committee they represented. Mr. Mitchell then stated the next order of business was to elect officers for the Steering Committee. Members where asked if they wished to volunteer to hold a position and/or make nominations.

Nominations were held and voted upon by all members of the Committee. The following individuals were elected Officers for the Academic Year 2016-17:

Chairperson: Anthony Cameron Vice Chairperson: Vincent Castano

Secretary: Michelle Ping

Assistant Secretary: Cheryl Campbell

An overview of the Steering Committee was given by Mr. Anthony Cameron. Mr. Cameron discussed the purpose of the Committee, i.e. to review and evaluate recommendations from Standing Committees and make appropriate recommendations to the Executive Council and the President. Mr. Cameron stressed the importance of Standing Committees performing due diligence prior to bringing any matters before the Steering Committee.

## **Discussion**

Dr. Keen addressed the Committee and discussed the importance of each Committee's role in the overall success of the College. Dr. Keen also discussed the importance of embracing and effectuating change. Change is a necessary component in any organization for growth and progress. Dr. Keen emphasized the main goal of the College is the support of its students and remarked on the positive effect our graduates have on the community.

The meeting adjourned at 5:00 PM.	
Next Meeting: TBD	
Anthony Cameron Chairperson	Michelle Ping Secretary